Joe Abbott's Weblog

Letters home to mom

  • Stuff posted on these days

    April 2011
    M T W T F S S
    « Mar   May »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    252627282930  
  • Meta

  • Joe Abbott Musings

  • RSS Cat Cartoon w/o the Cartoon

    • Coda
      Posting these cat-cartoons-without-the-cartoon was a long journey that I don’t know if I’ll repeat soon again. A daily blog is tough … even when you have your material handed to you! But, I couldn’t have done it without the artwork … Continue reading →
    • December 31, 2011
      Father Time is riding out his last few minutes of being the temporal keeper for 2011; he sits in an easy chair with a calendar showing “Dec 31” behind him and a grandfather clock pointing to the time of 11:53. … Continue reading →
    • December 30, 2011
      A happy young lady shares a table at a tony restaurant with her cat; they both wear festive, cone-shaped party hats. The woman gaily says to the tuxedoed server, “One martini and one glass of milk.” The cat does not … Continue reading →

So what did Joe build?

Posted by joeabbott on April 3, 2011

P1020408Yesterday I posted a picture of a bunch of lumber and hinted at a project in the works. The keen eye would note there was a lot of pressure treated fir in that pile and that would mean some sort of landscape project. Well, here it is: an arched bridge!

I’m not sure why I wanted to build a bridge but we were going to build a path across the back yard in Chickenville, so I wanted to add a little character. There’s only so much meandering and turns you can put into 50’, and our yard would dictate the ups and downs; but there didn’t seem to be enough eye appeal.

When I hit on a small bridge, I just cleaved to that idea! It was small enough to do in a day, it would add character, and I had no clue how to build one so I’d learn something! The added benefit is that we have a niece and nephew who love to run around the back yard and this would be a grand treat for them.

So, Suzy and I dickered on the size (6’? 10’? … it ended up 8’ long) and on the location. In the end it turned out to be a perfect spot but it’s not done by a long shot. I need to deal with the entry and exit, I’m concerned about the support on the down-slope side, and I’d like to make sure it’s not slick when wet … we opted against having a handrail.

Anyhow, I’ve loaded a bunch of pictures on Flickr but here are a few from the day:

P1020397

P1020404

P1020406P1020429

Leave a Reply

 
