Joe Abbott's Weblog

Letters home to mom

  • Stuff posted on these days

    November 2010
    M T W T F S S
    « Oct   Dec »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    2930  
  • Meta

  • Joe Abbott Musings

  • RSS Cat Cartoon w/o the Cartoon

    • Coda
      Posting these cat-cartoons-without-the-cartoon was a long journey that I don’t know if I’ll repeat soon again. A daily blog is tough … even when you have your material handed to you! But, I couldn’t have done it without the artwork … Continue reading →
    • December 31, 2011
      Father Time is riding out his last few minutes of being the temporal keeper for 2011; he sits in an easy chair with a calendar showing “Dec 31” behind him and a grandfather clock pointing to the time of 11:53. … Continue reading →
    • December 30, 2011
      A happy young lady shares a table at a tony restaurant with her cat; they both wear festive, cone-shaped party hats. The woman gaily says to the tuxedoed server, “One martini and one glass of milk.” The cat does not … Continue reading →

Halloween 2010

Posted by joeabbott on November 7, 2010

004On Halloween in the distant past, before I went back to school, Suzy and I used to celebrate that night in grand fashion. I think the most memorable costume idea was when we went as sheep and instantly became “the sheep people”. Which is fun to say but that costume was mighty hot. And, to be clear, the most memorable thing about it was that I can recall night after night with a hot-glue gun and a sweatshirt realizing, “we still don’t have enough cotton balls!”

But, those days are past and we spend Halloween now doling out bars to the neighborhood kids … and those children driven into the neighborhood by their parents who wait at the end of our long driveway in their car. And, of course, the odd teen or two without costume just looking for a few sweets.

And that’s fine, but we mostly enjoy an annual tradition of getting together with my nephew, David, and his parents, Steve and Julie, for our yearly pumpkin carving!

My usual style is to cut a couple gaping holes for eyes, slash a mouth into the thing, and call it good. Suzanne, on the other hand, will draft a meticulous design, prepare her pumpkin just so, and while I’m off feeding my face and playing video games with the boys, she’s rendering an artistic tableau in her chosen gourd. Or that’s how it seems to me.

Allow me to present his:

009011022

and her pumpkins:

013017021

020At the annual gathering, Julie will always put out a bunch of chow … and I get my fill! Sure we have snacks around the house but it’s usually one snack at a time, whereas Julie indulges me and I over-do it. Always.

The treats typically have a Halloween theme: little hot dogs “mummified” in strips of mozzarella, cookies in the shapes of spiders, cakes with tombstone decorations, and a punch with an “icy hand” to keep it cool.

This year she proclaimed to be “taking it easy” but I didn’t notice a lack of snackage. It was a fine spread of chow and we, once again, had a fun time carving pumpkins with one and all.

I feel a bit bad that I don’t have pictures of Julie, Steve, or David’s pumpkins, but I’d forgotten my phone at work (no camera), Suzy’s shots didn’t come out, and Steve has yet to send me the photos he took. And so, you get ours and ours alone.

But, great evenings carving and seeing all the kids coming to the door were had. We hope you had a Happy Halloween!

Leave a Reply

 
