Joe Abbott's Weblog

Letters home to mom

  • Stuff posted on these days

    August 2010
    M T W T F S S
    « Jul   Sep »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    3031  
  • Meta

  • Joe Abbott Musings

  • RSS Cat Cartoon w/o the Cartoon

    • Coda
      Posting these cat-cartoons-without-the-cartoon was a long journey that I don’t know if I’ll repeat soon again. A daily blog is tough … even when you have your material handed to you! But, I couldn’t have done it without the artwork … Continue reading →
    • December 31, 2011
      Father Time is riding out his last few minutes of being the temporal keeper for 2011; he sits in an easy chair with a calendar showing “Dec 31” behind him and a grandfather clock pointing to the time of 11:53. … Continue reading →
    • December 30, 2011
      A happy young lady shares a table at a tony restaurant with her cat; they both wear festive, cone-shaped party hats. The woman gaily says to the tuxedoed server, “One martini and one glass of milk.” The cat does not … Continue reading →

What’s up now?

Posted by joeabbott on August 29, 2010

I’m working on a couple of stories that I’ll post later but still need to polish some words, get the right pics, etc. And yes, some of the stuff I post here does get editing. Not that it’s all that obvious.

Top of the mind is Xbox. Why? Well, I play more than some people but have only put in a couple hours in the last two weeks … but last night I was up until 1 AM doing it! But, with Xbox Live, I’m not always playing games … I have a NetFlix account and have been catching up on movies that Suzy might not want to watch and I can knock out in an hour and a half or so.

image  imageA week ago I watched Ong Bak 2.

It wasn’t a great video but the main actor, Tony Jaa, is a fighting madman! Very fast and fun to watch. And, at just a bit over an hour and half, it wasn’t too much of a time sink. What I did like is that, while it had all the elements of the “hero wins in the end” sort of vibe, (spoiler alert!) he didn’t. But, I think there was a movie that came after so it seems that what I saw was a bit of a cliff hanger. Oh well … guilty pleasure (martial arts movie watching) checked off!

The movie I watched last night is called Moon.

I really liked it but it would be hard to describe without giving away the story too much. Suffice it to say that, in the future, man is harvesting the moon as an energy source and a guy on a three-year solo mission is two weeks from going home. It’s the story of those last few days.

But, I face the daunting task of watching all the flicks that I’ve set aside in my queue. As it’s 87 movies deep, I have a bit of watching ahead of me.

So am I actually playing any games on the Xbox? Sure!

A friend of mine loaned me Assassin’s Creed 2 (along with a few other games), and I’m making my way through this one.

imageThe story is placed in an historically-based time during the Renaissance period, and involves a fictional rivalry between the Templars and a faction known as “the Assassins”. In this world, the Templars are the bad guys, seeking to control the world and the Assassins are attempting to stop them. It’s very creative and you play the role of an assassins … but a lot of gameplay involves climbing towers, uncovering loot, and diving from the top of tall buildings. Oh yeah, there’s the part about stabbing people in the head, too. Yikes!

But, outside the world of make believe, I’m still busy in the garage, building a gate for our walkway (it’ll hang off the entry I built and posted about here). I’ve avoided posting too much on this as I wanted to do a bigger write up … but, I don’t think that will happen.

I wanted to do a grand end-to-end story about a project and this gate seemed to be just the thing. Unfortunately, it’s more involved and I’ve been disappointed a bunch while building it so I haven’t photographed the different steps. That said, it seems to be coming along fine. I’ll post something when I’m done but that will be a few weeks yet.

The only other thing has been getting out and hiking, taking a trip to CO for a wedding, and then planning on hiking. More on the wedding trip later … and probably more on the hiking too!

Leave a Reply

 
