Joe Abbott's Weblog

Letters home to mom

  • Stuff posted on these days

    February 2009
    M T W T F S S
    « Jan   Mar »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    232425262728  
  • Meta

  • Joe Abbott Musings

  • RSS Cat Cartoon w/o the Cartoon

    • Coda
      Posting these cat-cartoons-without-the-cartoon was a long journey that I don’t know if I’ll repeat soon again. A daily blog is tough … even when you have your material handed to you! But, I couldn’t have done it without the artwork … Continue reading →
    • December 31, 2011
      Father Time is riding out his last few minutes of being the temporal keeper for 2011; he sits in an easy chair with a calendar showing “Dec 31” behind him and a grandfather clock pointing to the time of 11:53. … Continue reading →
    • December 30, 2011
      A happy young lady shares a table at a tony restaurant with her cat; they both wear festive, cone-shaped party hats. The woman gaily says to the tuxedoed server, “One martini and one glass of milk.” The cat does not … Continue reading →

Aft Gang Aglay

Posted by joeabbott on February 1, 2009

Today’s been a busy day.

First, I stayed up later than usual. This isn’t a tough situation to contrive as I normally arise before 5 AM and regularly get to bed by 10. But, after a long week it was nice to sit with the missus and chat, catch up on The Office (we have an Xbox360 and NetFlix … easy to catch up on things like this at 21 minutes an episode!), and have a little laugh together. Besides, the weekend was shaping up to be a busy one.

I wasn’t feeling top-notch yesterday and had even taken a nap. As I was working from home it was easy, as I was supposed to be working, I will be putting in some time on Sunday (before the Superbowl!) to make up for it. Anyhow, my cat was pestering me, the earlier nap disturbed my ability to get to sleep, and not feeling well all made for a crummy night’s rest. I got up early to feed the cats and managed to get a couple more hours of sleep on the couch.

tj_croissantWhen Suzanne got up we started in with chores. I was a bit feeble but she made a rockin’ breakfast: hot, fresh croissants (if you haven’t tried these, you should make every effort to grab some … deeeelish!), scrambled eggs with a bit of gueyer cheese, and some sausage links. Heaven. Still, I had a screaming headache and couldn’t tame it with food, caffeine, or aspirin. Time to throw all three at it and give myself a bit more rest. Off to bed I went at 9:30 AM.

I felt bad as we were having guests that night but still, I needed rest. I got it to the tune of about three more hours on the rack and managed chores for a few hours after that. Then it was bed time again.

Around 3 I was up and well enough to function so I continued with chores and just as Suzanne was searing the prime rib before tossing it into the oven for the evening’s meal (we were having old friends over), I checked my email and saw that I wasn’t the only one not well. Seems one of our guests had fallen to a migraine and wasn’t able to join us … her husband, understandably, would be taking a rain check as well. That left an 8# roast for the two of us. Perhaps a bit much.

We kicked around inviting other people over but that might be awkward: “hi, we were stood up and are looking for seconds. Care to join us?” We weren’t sure how that would play out.

So here we are … tonight we’ll enjoy a fantastic meal alone, we’ll probably watch a bit of TV, and off to bed early. I’ll be heading into work tomorrow AM and then off to a friend’s house to enjoy some football. No hikes this weekend, which is a pity as it was a rare, gorgeous Seattle late-winter Saturday. Perhaps next weekend.

One Response to “Aft Gang Aglay”

  1. […] up in the 5 AM hour, fed the cats, and crashed again until 9. Suzanne came down and made some fresh croissants and we read the paper together. Then it was off to […]

Leave a Reply

 
