Joe Abbott's Weblog

Letters home to mom

  • Stuff posted on these days

    January 2009
    M T W T F S S
    « Dec   Feb »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    262728293031  
  • Meta

  • Joe Abbott Musings

  • RSS Cat Cartoon w/o the Cartoon

    • Coda
      Posting these cat-cartoons-without-the-cartoon was a long journey that I don’t know if I’ll repeat soon again. A daily blog is tough … even when you have your material handed to you! But, I couldn’t have done it without the artwork … Continue reading →
    • December 31, 2011
      Father Time is riding out his last few minutes of being the temporal keeper for 2011; he sits in an easy chair with a calendar showing “Dec 31” behind him and a grandfather clock pointing to the time of 11:53. … Continue reading →
    • December 30, 2011
      A happy young lady shares a table at a tony restaurant with her cat; they both wear festive, cone-shaped party hats. The woman gaily says to the tuxedoed server, “One martini and one glass of milk.” The cat does not … Continue reading →

Finished air bench

Posted by joeabbott on January 19, 2009


Finished air bench

Originally uploaded by JoeAbbott

Well, it’s done.

I have one outstanding minor feature that I want to add but as far as the plan I was following goes, she’s completed!

At some time or other I’ll add a power strip to it somewhere so I can run a single line to the bench and power a number of tools (including the compressor). It’s sorta odd they didn’t plan one into it from the get-go but it’s not obvious where you should put it.

I continued chipping away and getting closer and closer. Today I wanted to start another project and just knew I needed to get this one done. I’d gone out and bought the lumber for the other job but my incomplete cart kept calling to me. I shelved the other wood and finished the air bench up.

I went to Home Depot to find the same regulator I used in another place on the system but they still didn’t have them in. One of the earlier ones I’d picked up was faulty so I’d returned it. Now they didn’t have others of the same model but they had a couple units that looked functionally identical but a different form factor. So I got one.

In my other Flickr photos you can see it better but the top regulator is different from the other one.

Anyhow, I got the regulator and screwed it on. Pressured the system, used some tools, changed the pressure, did a few other tests … ship it!! Everything looked and worked great.

Next I had to build a stand-off and bracket to support the regulator in the middle. The new one is a different style and doesn’t take a bracket. I had a piece of steel from a candy box\container and cut that out into the shape I needed. It’s a bit ghetto but does the job and doesn’t look all that bad. And, to be honest, my handcrafted bracket is a part I’m sure to call out to anyone looking at the cart for years to come.

After building the stand-off block and bracket, I fiddled around to get the bend in the bracket right, did a bit more sizing and placing to make sure things were in the right spot, and started drilling holes.

The small space that the assembly is in made it challenging to get my hands in there and drill pilot holes and place screws but when it was done, I was happy. It’s solid and won’t creep around.

This was a good project. It cost a fortune (the casters were super expensive) and took a huge chunk of time, but already the bench has proved a huge benefit to me. The rock solid construction allows it to hold up to how I work, it maneuvers very well around the shop floor, and the storage is already proving valuable. This was a fun one.

2 Responses to “Finished air bench”

  1. Who are you, and what have you done with Joe. That looks like a completed project.

  2. joeabbott said

    🙂

Leave a Reply

 
