Joe Abbott's Weblog

Letters home to mom

  • Stuff posted on these days

    January 2009
    M T W T F S S
    « Dec   Feb »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    262728293031  
  • Meta

  • Joe Abbott Musings

  • RSS Cat Cartoon w/o the Cartoon

    • Coda
      Posting these cat-cartoons-without-the-cartoon was a long journey that I don’t know if I’ll repeat soon again. A daily blog is tough … even when you have your material handed to you! But, I couldn’t have done it without the artwork … Continue reading →
    • December 31, 2011
      Father Time is riding out his last few minutes of being the temporal keeper for 2011; he sits in an easy chair with a calendar showing “Dec 31” behind him and a grandfather clock pointing to the time of 11:53. … Continue reading →
    • December 30, 2011
      A happy young lady shares a table at a tony restaurant with her cat; they both wear festive, cone-shaped party hats. The woman gaily says to the tuxedoed server, “One martini and one glass of milk.” The cat does not … Continue reading →

Air Bench … getting closer!

Posted by joeabbott on January 15, 2009




In place

Originally uploaded by JoeAbbott

I’m nearly done with the air bench and took a big step this past weekend.

I was going to work in the garage and build something when i got caught up tidying things. I had a bunch of holiday cardboard to cut down, things to toss out, some yard ornaments to put away yet. I even had more but it took about an hour before I could see my real projects.

I then looked at what I had on deck. A small gifty sort of thing … took about 30 minutes and was done.

Then I was going to build a storage box for some extra drinking glasses we bought. Well, Suzanne got tired of waiting for me to build it (hey, I have no heat in the garage and it’s been COLD out here in Seattle!) and finally tucked them away in the house. Motivation to do this project … nil. Moving on.

I then had a couple projects requiring glue-ups and with the chilly weather, I’m just not interested in tempting fate or bringing it inside. Those will wait.

Then there’s the project of building better storage for my lumber! I looked at this and it’s non-trivial. I have to find some good attachments to the walls, I have to move my clamp rack, I have to move a table we store in a funny place (I’m sure you’ll hear more about this project later), and then I’d need to buy a bunch of pine to do the job. Sigh, too big to bite off just now.

And there was the air bench pneumatics.

So, I had the two assemblies to piece together and I had to attach the regulators and filter. The problem here is that I couldn’t get the filter\regulators on and straight up and down … the threading ended in an odd place and left them turned.

I fixed one with liberal application of joint\thread tape. It was close enough to work fine. I did have ot separate a soldered joint to allow the part ot screw on, though.

The second one required a second separation … which also led to other joints failing. Sigh. After a bunch of fiddling around, I got it working and looking decent.

Then I found two places the assembly was leaking. I tried a sloppy fix but ended up redoing the whole thing from scratch and learned to just do it right from the get-go.

After all this, I started pressure testing and found one of the regulators to be acting weird. It wasn’t holding pressure, it would leak from the adjustment knob, it didn’t have the same pressure as was coming out of the compressor. I finally decided I had a faulty unit and returned it. The problem is that Home Depot didn’t have a replacement so now I’m left waiting.

Oh well … at least I’m good at waiting.

Leave a Reply

 
