Joe Abbott's Weblog

Letters home to mom

  • Stuff posted on these days

    December 2008
    M T W T F S S
    « Nov   Jan »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    293031  
  • Meta

  • Joe Abbott Musings

  • RSS Cat Cartoon w/o the Cartoon

    • Coda
      Posting these cat-cartoons-without-the-cartoon was a long journey that I don’t know if I’ll repeat soon again. A daily blog is tough … even when you have your material handed to you! But, I couldn’t have done it without the artwork … Continue reading →
    • December 31, 2011
      Father Time is riding out his last few minutes of being the temporal keeper for 2011; he sits in an easy chair with a calendar showing “Dec 31” behind him and a grandfather clock pointing to the time of 11:53. … Continue reading →
    • December 30, 2011
      A happy young lady shares a table at a tony restaurant with her cat; they both wear festive, cone-shaped party hats. The woman gaily says to the tuxedoed server, “One martini and one glass of milk.” The cat does not … Continue reading →

Seattle Snow

Posted by joeabbott on December 22, 2008

 

OK, I’m not huge on adding pictures to my blog. It just takes that tiny bit of coordination and planning that I lack … or lack for the purpose of documenting my life. But, this is good stuff and having just had my mother out here, I’m sure she can appreciate seeing the difference just a couple months make.

 

salmon driveway sculpture

salmon driveway sculpture

We recently had some work done to our driveway. More specifically, to the side of it. We used to have a small strip of crushed gravel and then bark. The bark collapsed into the gravel and the entire thing just became a huge plot of earth to weed. We had all that removed and put in large stone with crushed rock around it and then a dry streambed through it. It looks good but Suzanne put a small school of ironwork salmon heading up the driveway into the streambed … and now it looks really good. Here’s how things look with a bit of snow tossed in.

Front yard

Front yard

Here’s the front yard … and it’s really most all of it! I love it. Not a lot to mow and just enough to have some growing things and whatnot. We have two ironwork sculptures planted in the front yard that are nearly buried from the recent snows. The iron man, Clyde, holds a couple of solar powered lanterns … probably not going to be going on any time soon. The ironwork cat is nearly buried. Behind them you can see the bamboo was knocked down a bit by all the snow I shoveled off the stairs earlier in the day.

shoveled driveway

Shoveled driveway!

 Now this was a big piece of work. We had 3-4 inches of snow during last week and I didn’t shovel. We had a few deliveries but our cars remained parked. Over the weekend we got dumped on … about 8″ of light stuff. Then we got stir crazy and I drove Suzanne to work Monday morning and came home. On the way up the driveway I got sideways (literally) and stuck. I had to shovel myself out, apply liberal amounts of sand for traction, and then got straightend out. Good thing, too … my back tire was about a foot off a small retaining wall that dropped about 28″ right there.
 
I then figured I’d shovel the minimum necessary to get my car into the garage. One thing led to another and I ended up shoveling the whole darned thing. ouch. That was a lot of compacted snow and ice. I wore about a quarter inch off the end of my shovel. A sore back is in store for me tonight!
 
 
 
One Response to “Seattle Snow”

  1. […] anglers, nor do we have tropical fish or anything like that. Still, we have a lot of fish outside. Earlier I’d pointed out some fish we put adjacent to the front driveway and now we have a similar school keeping busy in the back. And where else would you expect to find […]

Leave a Reply

 
