Joe Abbott's Weblog

Letters home to mom

  • Stuff posted on these days

    November 2008
    M T W T F S S
    « Oct   Dec »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930
  • Meta

  • Joe Abbott Musings

  • RSS Cat Cartoon w/o the Cartoon

    • Coda
      Posting these cat-cartoons-without-the-cartoon was a long journey that I don’t know if I’ll repeat soon again. A daily blog is tough … even when you have your material handed to you! But, I couldn’t have done it without the artwork … Continue reading →
    • December 31, 2011
      Father Time is riding out his last few minutes of being the temporal keeper for 2011; he sits in an easy chair with a calendar showing “Dec 31” behind him and a grandfather clock pointing to the time of 11:53. … Continue reading →
    • December 30, 2011
      A happy young lady shares a table at a tony restaurant with her cat; they both wear festive, cone-shaped party hats. The woman gaily says to the tuxedoed server, “One martini and one glass of milk.” The cat does not … Continue reading →

Sunday – 11/16

Posted by joeabbott on November 17, 2008

Well, this was our last full day with mom in town. A sad point but we’ve had a lot of fun and rest and trying new things … I think we’re all ready to get back to work. I don’t think I’d do well with a life of leisure!

Today started with me running into work and moving some computers around to accomodate a move that will involve my office. I got done in near record time and was back home by 6:30 AM. That left me time to read the paper and take a tiny nap before mom and Suzanne got up.

The wait was well worth it as Suzanne, once again, treated us to a wonderful breakfast! We had crepes with all the trimmings, eggs, and bacon. Sometime soon I’ll write a post on just the eats we’ve had … man it’s been a “filling” week!

After breakfast mom and I ran errands while Suzanne started a painting project. We got home and I went into the workshop to cut out a holiday ornament for Thanksgiving. I could write a post about that, too! Anyhow, it went quick and then we all gathered around the kitchen table to paint our bird houses. PIctures to follow but I had made three identical bird houses and we all painted them in our own way.

Suzanne did an excellent and creative job on hers; mom was equally artful but more formal. I just painted mine in solid shades. It was a nice way to spend the afternoon. We chatted about the trip, asked Suzanne for tips on painting, and were serious about our personal projects. We each found ways to compliment the others and find wanting in our own designs. They all look great.

Around 4 we got ready for dinner at the Wild Ginger restaurant. It bills itself as an “asian restaurant and satay bar” but is just darned tasty. We had a wonderful dinner was we each ordered something to share family style and had fun. Suzanne got duck, mom picked lamb, and I got halibut. We all got to taste each others selection and loved it. Great food and nice atmosphere.

After that we headed home where Suzanne baked some treats for the office tomorrow, mom read the paper, and I busied myself with this. Another super great day.

One Response to “Sunday – 11/16”

  1. […] you forget (and who wouldn’t!), were built and painted last November and I wrote about them here. You can see them drying after I sprayed them with a clear coat in this picture of my garage. But, […]

Leave a Reply

 
